Sad news

February 27, 2007 at 9:53 pm | Posted in Blogroll, News, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I have to report the death of a former member of the Club, Ian Ross.

Longer serving members of the Club will remember Ian as an enthusiastic member of a few years ago. He was the owner of the 6m “Flipper”, now owned by another member of the Club.

Ian lived in Clapham for several years but had always wanted to move to the country. He eventually found a bungalow in Lincolnshire and moved there 2/3 years ago with his wife Norita. Ian still had a great interest in the Club and he and I spoke to each other over the telephone every few months so that I could keep him up to date with events. He became ill something over a year ago with a complaint that to my knowledge was never properly diagnosed. He slowly went downhill until he ceased to answer my telephone calls and I kept in touch by Christmas cards and by sending him printouts of our Club website, and updating that with copies of our “blog” pages. I was on the point of sending him our latest pages with news of the Soling project. Sadly he died on the 23rd February before I could send it off.

Ian will be cremated in London, at the Streatham Vale Crematoriam on Monday, 5th March at 11am. I intend to be there on behalf of the Club.  If any other member could be there to join me, that would be nice.  Derek.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

